MLB Baseball

#31
Max Scherzer
ERA W-L K
2.19 6-4 112
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 7/27/1984 Birthplace: St. Louis, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2006)


Latest News
June 22 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 6-4, allowing one run on two hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.19 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
June 15 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST1:53 PM CST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-Scherzer (right groin) has been activated from the injured list and will start Tuesday in Philadelphia.
Analysis: Scherzer exited his start against the Giants on June 11 after throwing just 12 pitches. The three-time Cy Young Award winner entered the game with a 5-4 record and a 2.22 ERA. Scherzer began the night in second place in the NL with 104 strikeouts.
June 11 6:40 PM PT7:40 PM MT8:40 PM CT9:40 PM ET21:40 ET1:40 GMT9:40 6:40 PM MST8:40 PM EST7:40 PM CST9:10 PM VEN5:40 UAE (+1)7:40 PM CT-Max Scherzer did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Francisco Giants 1-0 on Friday. Scherzer did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.21 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
June 4 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 5-4, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 7.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Friday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.22 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 30 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 4-4, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-0 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.34 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 30 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 4-4, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-0 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.34 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 25 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 4-3, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 2-1 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.27 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 19 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 4-2, allowing two runs on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.24 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 15 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 3-2, allowing two hits and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 17-2 on Friday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.10 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
May 8 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 7.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out 14, ending the game with a 2.33 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
May 2 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST1:49 PM CST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE1:49 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 2-2, allowing one run on five hits in 9.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.54 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 1-2, allowing seven runs - five earned - on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 9-5 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out five, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 1-1, allowing four hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 1-0 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.72 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 1-0 on Friday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.37 ERA and 0.68 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST4:43 PM CST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 0-1, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-0 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out five, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 4:23 PM PT5:23 PM MT6:23 PM CT7:23 PM ET19:23 ET23:23 GMT7:23 4:23 PM MST6:23 PM EST5:23 PM CST6:53 PM VEN3:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed four runs on five hits in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-5 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Ari 0 4 0 - 0 16 7 0 56.0 48 24 19 5 21 1 66 1.23 3.05
2009 Ari 9 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 170.1 166 94 78 20 63 1 174 1.34 4.12
2010 Det 12 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 195.2 174 84 76 20 70 1 184 1.25 3.50
2011 Det 15 9 0 - 0 33 33 0 195.0 207 101 96 29 56 1 174 1.35 4.43
2012 Det 16 7 0 - 0 32 32 0 187.2 179 82 78 23 60 2 231 1.27 3.74
2013 Det 21 3 0 - 0 32 32 0 214.1 152 73 69 18 56 0 240 0.97 2.90
2014 Det 18 5 0 - 0 33 33 1 220.1 196 80 77 18 63 1 252 1.18 3.15
2015 Was 14 12 0 - 0 33 33 4 228.2 176 74 71 27 34 2 276 0.92 2.79
2016 Was 20 7 0 - 0 34 34 1 228.1 165 77 75 31 56 2 284 0.97 2.96
2017 Was 16 6 0 - 0 31 31 2 200.2 126 62 56 22 55 2 268 0.90 2.51
2018 Was 18 7 0 - 0 33 33 2 220.2 150 66 62 23 51 4 300 0.91 2.53
2019 Was 11 7 0 - 0 27 27 0 172.1 144 59 56 18 33 2 243 1.03 2.92
2020 Was 5 4 0 - 0 12 12 1 67.1 70 30 28 10 23 1 92 1.38 3.74
2021 Was 6 4 0 - 0 14 14 1 82.1 50 22 20 12 18 0 112 0.83 2.19
Career 181 97 0 - 0 391 382 12 2439.2 2003 928 861 276 659 20 2896 1.09 3.18

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Ari 17 13 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 4 0 0 .000 .071 .000
2009 Ari 31 53 4 12 2 0 0 3 3 17 0 0 .226 .268 .264
2010 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Det 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Det 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Det 32 3 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2014 Det 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Was 34 69 4 15 0 0 0 0 2 23 0 0 .217 .239 .217
2016 Was 34 70 4 13 1 0 0 12 2 30 0 0 .186 .208 .200
2017 Was 31 62 4 10 0 0 1 5 4 16 0 0 .161 .212 .210
2018 Was 35 70 8 17 2 0 0 6 1 14 1 0 .243 .274 .271
2019 Was 29 55 6 10 0 0 0 2 0 27 2 0 .182 .182 .182
2021 Was 14 23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 9 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 398 428 31 78 6 0 1 29 13 142 3 0 .182 .210 .203

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Det Total 2 2 0 - 0 8 6 0 31.1 30 20 20 2 18 0 28 5.74
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 1 1 0 4 0 7 1.23
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 11 9 9 1 5 0 7 9.72
2012 Det Total 2 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 34.2 24 10 8 2 8 0 52 2.08
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 3 1 0 0 1 0 8 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 2 1 1 0 2 0 10 1.59
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 7 3 3 1 1 0 8 4.26
2013 Det Total 4 2 0 - 0 8 6 0 44.2 24 14 14 2 22 2 68 2.82
    LDS 2 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.0 6 3 3 1 4 1 13 3.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.1 6 4 4 0 7 0 21 2.70
2014 Det Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.2 14 10 10 4 2 0 12 6.14
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 7 5 5 2 1 0 6 6.14
2016 Was Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 24.0 20 10 10 6 4 0 24 3.75
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 10 5 5 3 2 0 12 3.75
2017 Was Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 2 0 14.2 8 10 6 0 8 2 16 3.68
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 5 3 0 4 1 8 3.68
2019 Was Total 6 0 0 - 0 12 10 0 60.0 42 16 16 8 30 2 74 2.40
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 3 3 2 3 0 6 5.40
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.0 4 1 1 1 3 1 10 1.13
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 11 0.00
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 12 4 4 1 7 0 10 3.60
Career 7 5 0 - 0 22 18 0 112.0 81 45 42 12 46 3 137 3.38

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Was Total 4 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Was Total 4 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Was Total 12 12 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 22 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 629 97 90 94.2 48.24
Curveball 111 79 72 76.7 8.51
Slider 251 88 81 85.8 19.25
Changeup 180 89 83 85.2 13.8
Cut Fastball 133 93 87 90 10.2

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.