MLB Baseball

#54
Roberto Osuna
ERA S K
2.68 36 82
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-2 / 230 NFBC ADP: 80.63
Position: RPBorn: 2/7/1995 Birthplace: Juan Jose Rios, Mexico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Blue Jays (2011)


Latest News
July 17 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 23rd save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Monday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.70 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Osuna has pitched 13 2/3 scoreless innings, allowing just three hits with two walks and 18 strikeouts while converting all nine save chances in his last 14 appearances.
July 17 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-Roberto Osuna walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Detroit Tigers 6-5 on Sunday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 1.98 ERA and 0.72 WHIP on the season.
July 12 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE11:17 PM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the AL All-Stars defeated the NL All-Stars 2-1 on Tuesday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 7 8:18 AM PT9:18 AM MT10:18 AM CT11:18 AM ET11:18 ET15:18 GMT23:18 8:18 AM MST10:18 AM EST10:48 AM VEN19:18 UAE10:18 AM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 22nd save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Houston Astros 7-4 on Thursday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.06 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Osuna converted his 21st consecutive save opportunity to tie Billy Koch for the fourth-longest save streak in franchise history, two behind Tom Henke's run of 23 in a row set between August 1986 and June 1987.
July 5 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 21st save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 7-6 on Wednesday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.12 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
July 4 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 20th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 4-1 on Tuesday. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 2.18 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Osuna has converted 19 straight save chances while allowing just three runs over 27 innings. He has given up 12 hits, three walks and struck out 40 over those 29 appearances.
July 1 9:52 PM PT10:52 PM MT11:52 PM CT12:52 AM ET0:52 ET4:52 GMT12:52 9:52 PM MST11:52 PM EST12:22 AM VEN8:52 UAE11:52 PM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Friday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
June 28 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-0 on Wednesday. Osuna struck out three, ending the game with a 2.32 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
June 26 9:51 AM PT10:51 AM MT11:51 AM CT12:51 PM ET12:51 ET16:51 GMT0:51 9:51 AM MST11:51 AM EST12:21 PM VEN20:51 UAE11:51 AM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-2 on Sunday. Osuna struck out three, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Osuna's indefinite absence to attend to some anxiety issues lasted only a couple of days, and he was sharp in his first appearance since disclosing the problem. It remains to be seen if John Gibbons will throw the 22-year-old right back into high-pressure situations, though he's undeniably Toronto's best option for that role.
June 24 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Osuna says he is out of sorts mentally, feeling ''anxious'' and ''weird.'' And that is why he was unavailable to pitch Friday.
Analysis: Jays manager John Gibbons did not use Osuna when KC sored four runs in the ninth off three relievers to win 5-4. Gibbons says Osuna was "just not feeling well." He did not elaborate. Osuna said through an interpreter before Saturday's game that he feels "great physically" but not "mentally." He adds that he is "a little bit anxious, a little bit weird. I feel like I'm not myself right now." He says he has never experienced this sensation during his career.
June 22 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 19th save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Texas Rangers 7-5 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.48 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
June 20 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 18th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Texas Rangers 7-6 on Monday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
June 18 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-3 on Sunday. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
June 14 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 17th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-6 on Wednesday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
June 11 5:01 PM PT6:01 PM MT7:01 PM CT8:01 PM ET20:01 ET0:01 GMT8:01 5:01 PM MST7:01 PM EST7:31 PM VEN4:01 UAE (+1)7:01 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 16th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Seattle Mariners 4-0 on Sunday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Osuna has converted 15 straight save chances, posting a 1.42 ERA in 19 innings.
June 11 9:49 AM PT10:49 AM MT11:49 AM CT12:49 PM ET12:49 ET16:49 GMT0:49 9:49 AM MST11:49 AM EST12:19 PM VEN20:49 UAE11:49 AM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 15th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Seattle Mariners 4-2 on Saturday. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
June 7 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Osuna recorded his 14th save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-5 on Wednesday. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He's converted 13 straight save chances.
June 4 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 13th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 3-2 on Sunday. Osuna struck out three, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
June 2 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 7-5 on Friday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Osuna is 11 for 11 in save opportunities while allowing two runs and eight hits with two walks and 20 strikeouts in 15 2/3 innings over his last 17 appearances.
May 31 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 11th save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Wednesday. Osuna struck out three, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 30 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-4 on Tuesday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After a rough beginning to the season, Osuna is 9 for 9 in save opportunities while allowing one run and six hits with two walks and 16 strikeouts in 13 2/3 innings over his last 15 appearances.
May 27 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Texas Rangers 3-1 on Saturday.
Analysis: Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
May 26 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Texas Rangers 7-6 on Friday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After Rougned Odor cut the gap to one with a three-run homer off Joe Smith in the ninth, Osuna came on and struck out Mike Napoli for the save. After a rough beginning to the season, Osuna is 7 for 7 in save opportunities while allowing one run and six hits with two walks and 14 strikeouts in 11 2/3 innings over his last 13 appearances.
May 23 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Tuesday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The standout closer finished off an outstanding night for Toronto's bullpen by converting his sixth straight save opportunity. Since last blowing a save on April 27, Osuna has yielded just one run, six hits and two walks while striking out 13 over 11 1/3 innings.
May 21 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-1 on Sunday.
Analysis: Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 16 5:36 PM PT6:36 PM MT7:36 PM CT8:36 PM ET20:36 ET0:36 GMT8:36 5:36 PM MST7:36 PM EST8:06 PM VEN4:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Roberto Osuna allowed one run on two hits in 0.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Atlanta Braves 9-5 on Tuesday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
May 13 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-2 on Saturday. Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Seattle Mariners 4-0 on Friday. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
May 10 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Roberto Osuna improved to 2-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cleveland Indians 8-7 on Wednesday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 8 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-2 on Monday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After blowing three of his first four save chances, Osuna has pitched six scoreless innings and allowed two hits with one walk and nine strikeouts over his last six appearances.
May 7 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Sunday.
Analysis: Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
May 5 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 8-4 on Friday. Osuna struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 4 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Roberto Osuna did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 8-6 on Wednesday. Osuna struck out three, ending the game with a 5.00 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Roberto Osuna recorded his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 on Sunday. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Osuna has now converted back-to-back save chances after blowing his previous two. He's still the Jays' best option in the closer's role, and could be rounding back into form after missing some time with a neck strain.
Apr. 29 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Osuna recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-1 on Saturday.
Analysis: Osuna did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.43 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 5:07 PM PT6:07 PM MT7:07 PM CT8:07 PM ET20:07 ET0:07 GMT8:07 5:07 PM MST7:07 PM EST7:37 PM VEN4:07 UAE (+1)7:07 PM CT-Roberto Osuna blew his third save, allowing two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 8-4 on Thursday in the opener of a doubleheader. Osuna struck out two, ending the game with a 7.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: One out away from winning its first series of the year, Toronto saw those hopes fly over the left-center field wall. Randal Grichuk launched a 1-1 fastball from Osuna 412 feet for a tying two-run homer. Osuna has allowed four runs and six hits over three innings in his last three appearances.
Apr. 2 4:35 PM PT5:35 PM MT6:35 PM CT7:35 PM ET19:35 ET23:35 GMT7:35 4:35 PM MST6:35 PM EST7:05 PM VEN3:35 UAE (+1)6:35 PM CT-The Blue Jays activated Osuna from the 10-day disabled list prior to Tuesday's home opener against Milwaukee.
Analysis: The 22-year-old will be reinstalled as Toronto's closer after missing the season's first week with a neck strain. Osuna was a fantasy asset last season, recording 36 saves in 42 chances and striking out 82 hitters in 74 innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 1 6 20 - 23 68 0 0 69.2 48 21 20 7 16 2 75 0.92 2.58
2016 Tor 4 3 36 - 42 72 0 0 74.0 55 23 22 9 14 4 82 0.93 2.68
Career 5 9 56 - 65 140 0 0 143.2 103 44 42 16 30 6 157 0.93 2.63


Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 Tor Total 0 1 1 - 1 7 0 0 8.1 3 2 2 1 1 0 6 2.16
    LDS 0 0 1 - 1 4 0 0 5.2 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 6.75
2016 Tor Total 1 0 1 - 1 7 0 0 9.0 4 0 0 0 0 0 10 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 1 0 1 - 1 2 0 0 3.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 3 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
Career 1 1 2 - 2 14 0 0 17.1 7 2 2 1 1 0 16 1.04


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 261 98 92 95.1 49.15
Slider 131 90 83 87 24.67
Changeup 19 87 82 84.5 3.58
Cut Fastball 120 94 88 91.1 22.6

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.