MLB Baseball

#33
Greg Bird
AVG HR RBI
.167 6 21
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-4 / 220 NFBC ADP: 204.15
Position: 1BBorn: 11/9/1992 Birthplace: Memphis, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 5th Round by Yankees (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 23 5:25 PM PT6:25 PM MT7:25 PM CT8:25 PM ET20:25 ET0:25 GMT8:25 5:25 PM MST7:25 PM EST7:55 PM VEN4:25 UAE (+1)7:25 PM CT-Greg Bird went 1 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs Saturday as the New York Yankees topped the Toronto Blue Jays 5-1. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Analysis: Bird, who spent much of the year sidelined and hampered by a right ankle injury, connected for his third homer in his last seven games.
Sep. 20 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Greg Bird went 3 for 4 with two doubles and an RBI Wednesday as the New York Yankees topped the Minnesota Twins 11-3. Bird scored twice. He ended the game with a .164 batting average.
Sep. 20 9:28 PM PT10:28 PM MT11:28 PM CT12:28 AM ET0:28 ET4:28 GMT12:28 9:28 PM MST11:28 PM EST11:58 PM VEN8:28 UAE11:28 PM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the New York Yankees beat the Minnesota Twins 5-2. Bird scored once. He ended the game with a .144 batting average.
Sep. 19 10:54 PM PT11:54 PM MT12:54 AM CT1:54 AM ET1:54 ET5:54 GMT13:54 10:54 PM MST12:54 AM EST1:24 AM VEN9:54 UAE12:54 AM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 3 Monday as the New York Yankees beat the Minnesota Twins 2-1. He ended the game with a .147 batting average.
Analysis: Though he's homered in two of his last four games, Bird hasn't made much of an impact during a September in which he's 5 for 38 with 12 strikeouts. The first baseman still may be worth a look when at home, though, as he's produced four homers and 11 RBIs over his last 11 games at Yankee Stadium.
Sep. 18 12:02 AM PT1:02 AM MT2:02 AM CT3:02 AM ET3:02 ET7:02 GMT15:02 12:02 AM MST2:02 AM EST2:32 AM VEN11:02 UAE2:02 AM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 3 Sunday as the New York Yankees fell to the Baltimore Orioles 6-4. He ended the game with a .150 batting average.
Sep. 16 5:36 PM PT6:36 PM MT7:36 PM CT8:36 PM ET20:36 ET0:36 GMT8:36 5:36 PM MST7:36 PM EST8:06 PM VEN4:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Greg Bird went 1 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 9-3. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .155 batting average.
Sep. 16 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Greg Bird went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the New York Yankees topped the Baltimore Orioles 8-2. The homer was his fourth of the season. Bird scored twice. He ended the game with a .151 batting average.
Sep. 15 8:14 AM PT9:14 AM MT10:14 AM CT11:14 AM ET11:14 ET15:14 GMT23:14 8:14 AM MST10:14 AM EST10:44 AM VEN19:14 UAE10:14 AM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 1 Thursday as the New York Yankees topped the Baltimore Orioles 13-5. He ended the game with a .146 batting average.
Sep. 12 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)10:45 PM CT-Bird missed his third straight game Wednesday with a back spasm. Bird said he was available and manager Joe Girardi said he likely will start Friday.
Analysis: Bird has had a rough start to September, having gone 3 for 24 with eight strikeouts through eight games.
Sep. 11 8:41 AM PT9:41 AM MT10:41 AM CT11:41 AM ET11:41 ET15:41 GMT23:41 8:41 AM MST10:41 AM EST11:11 AM VEN19:41 UAE10:41 AM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 5 Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Texas Rangers 16-7. He ended the game with a .147 batting average.
Sep. 9 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Greg Bird went 1 for 2 Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Texas Rangers 3-1. He ended the game with a .155 batting average.
Sep. 7 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 1 Thursday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 9-1. He ended the game with a .147 batting average.
Sep. 6 8:03 AM PT9:03 AM MT10:03 AM CT11:03 AM ET11:03 ET15:03 GMT23:03 8:03 AM MST10:03 AM EST10:33 AM VEN19:03 UAE10:03 AM CT-Greg Bird went 1 for 4 with an RBI Tuesday as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-6. Bird scored once. He ended the game with a .149 batting average.
Sep. 4 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 5 Monday as the New York Yankees topped the Baltimore Orioles 7-4. He ended the game with a .144 batting average.
Analysis: Bird is 1 for 12 with six strikeouts in the first four games this month.
Sep. 4 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 1 Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Boston Red Sox 9-2. He ended the game with a .153 batting average.
Sep. 2 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Greg Bird went 1 for 4 Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Boston Red Sox 5-1. He ended the game with a .155 batting average.
Sep. 1 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 2 Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-1. He ended the game with a .150 batting average.
Sep. 1 9:18 PM PT10:18 PM MT11:18 PM CT12:18 AM ET0:18 ET4:18 GMT12:18 9:18 PM MST11:18 PM EST11:48 PM VEN8:18 UAE11:18 PM CT-Bird went 2 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs Thursday as the New York Yankees topped the Boston Red Sox 6-2. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .154 batting average.
Analysis: He has four hits in two games and 12 over 25 games this season.
Aug. 31 11:34 AM PT12:34 PM MT1:34 PM CT2:34 PM ET14:34 ET18:34 GMT2:34 11:34 AM MST1:34 PM EST2:04 PM VEN22:34 UAE1:34 PM CT-Greg Bird went 2 for 4 with a home run and four RBIs Wednesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Cleveland Indians 9-4. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .135 batting average.
Analysis: Bird came in hitting just .114 in his first 70 at-bats of the season with five RBIs, then had four in one game.
Aug. 30 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Cleveland Indians 2-1. He ended the game with a .114 batting average.
Aug. 28 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 3 Monday as the New York Yankees fell to the Cleveland Indians 6-2. He ended the game with a .121 batting average.
Aug. 27 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Greg Bird went 1 for 1 with two RBIs Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Seattle Mariners 10-1. He ended the game with a .127 batting average.
Analysis: Bird has gone 2 for 3 with two RBIs in his two games since coming off the DL.
Aug. 26 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Greg Bird went 1 for 2 with a pair of walks Saturday as the New York Yankees topped the Seattle Mariners 6-3. Bird scored once. He ended the game with a .113 batting average.
Analysis: Bird, playing for the first time since May 1, also was thrown out trying to score. The 24-year-old hit eight homers in spring training, tied for the most in the majors, but fouled a ball off his right ankle shortly before opening day and got off to a slow start. He had a bone removed from his right foot during his recovery. ''It's been a long interesting, unique journey,'' Bird said
May 2 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Bird was activated from the disabled list before Saturday's game against the Seattle Mariners after missing more than three months with a bruised right ankle. Bird returned to New York's lineup Saturday, batting sixth.
Analysis: The saga of Bird's ankle began late in spring training when he fouled a ball off the ankle. It spoiled an exhibition season where he batted .451 and seemed ready to assume the role of New York's regular first baseman after missing last season recovering from shoulder surgery.
May 1 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 4 Monday as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-1. He ended the game with a .100 batting average.
Analysis: Bird went hitless again and is 1 for 23 in his last eight games.
Apr. 29 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 1 with three walks Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 12-4. Bird scored twice. He ended the game with a .107 batting average.
Analysis: Bird is 2 for 27 over his last nine games.
Apr. 29 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 14-11 in 10 innings. He ended the game with a .109 batting average.
Analysis: Bird is 2 for 26 over his last eight games.
Apr. 17 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Despite breaking out of his slump Sunday night with a huge game at the plate, Bird was left on the bench Monday in favor of Chris Carter. Still, manager Joe Girardi insisted the team views Bird as an everyday player. ''(Derek) Holland's really tough on left-handers,'' Girardi explained. ''So we got as many righties as we could today.''
Analysis: Bird was 3 for 3 with his first homer of the season Sunday after entering the contest 1 for 26 with 13 strikeouts and zero RBIs on the young season.
Apr. 17 8:15 AM PT9:15 AM MT10:15 AM CT11:15 AM ET11:15 ET15:15 GMT23:15 8:15 AM MST10:15 AM EST10:45 AM VEN19:15 UAE10:15 AM CT-Bird had a much-needed breakout game in the Yankees' 9-3 win over St. Louis on Sunday. The struggling first baseman finished 3 for 3 with two runs scored and hit his first homer of the season, a two-run shot in the second inning.
Analysis: Bird entered the contest 1 for 26 with 13 strikeouts and zero RBIs on the young season. He's been dropped to seventh in the batting order after beginning the year in the No. 3 spot.
Apr. 15 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Bird's struggles continued Saturday against the Cardinals as he went 0 for 3 with two strikeouts.
Analysis: Bird is just 1 for 26 with 13 strikeouts this season. He's hitless in his last 18 at-bats.
Apr. 14 9:25 AM PT10:25 AM MT11:25 AM CT12:25 PM ET12:25 ET16:25 GMT0:25 9:25 AM MST11:25 AM EST11:55 AM VEN20:25 UAE11:25 AM CT-Bird returned to the Yankees' lineup Thursday, but went 0 for 4 with three strikeouts and is now 1 for 20 to begin the season.
Analysis: The young first baseman sat out New York's previous four games with a sore ankle and an illness, though he had been struggling mightily even before being sidelined. Bird has now struck out 10 times and has yet to drive in a run.
Apr. 12 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Bird was kept out of the starting lineup for the fourth straight day Wednesday to give his sore ankle another day to heal, though he said he's feeling better.
Analysis: Bird also might have been kept on the bench because the Yankees were facing a left-hander. The lefty-hitting Bird could be back Thursday with New York facing Rays right-hander Matt Andriese.
Apr. 8 5:27 PM PT6:27 PM MT7:27 PM CT8:27 PM ET20:27 ET0:27 GMT8:27 5:27 PM MST7:27 PM EST7:57 PM VEN4:27 UAE (+1)7:27 PM CT-Bird is out of the lineup Monday with continued flu-like symptoms and a slight ankle bruise, but could be available to pinch hit in the New York Yankees' home opener against the Tampa Bay Rays.
Analysis: Bird sat out Sunday's game, the same day catcher Gary Sanchez was placed on the 10-day disabled list with a strained biceps, and also missed a 5-4 loss to the Orioles on Saturday. The 24-year-old has one hit in 16 at-bats in 2017.
Mar. 9 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)2:41 PM CT-Gary Sanchez and Bird are providing hope that the New York Yankees can compete for the playoffs even during a season in which they're leaning toward a youth movement. The pair of 24-year old sluggers is putting up big numbers in exhibition games, both hitting well over .300 with three homers apiece.
Analysis: Bird went deep 11 times over 46 games in 2015, but the first baseman missed all of last season due to right shoulder surgery.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYY 46 157 26 41 9 0 11 31 19 53 0 0 .261 .343 .529
2017 NYY 41 126 17 21 5 0 6 21 16 40 0 0 .167 .269 .349
Career 87 283 43 62 14 0 17 52 35 93 0 0 .219 .310 .449

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYY Total 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
    WC 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
Career 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.