MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#9
Kirk Nieuwenhuis
AVG HR RBI
.186 3 13
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 226 NFBC ADP: 648.94
Position: LFBorn: 8/7/1987 Birthplace: Santa Monica, California
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 3rd Round by Mets (2008)


Latest News
Aug. 2 4:34 PM PT5:34 PM MT6:34 PM CT7:34 PM ET19:34 ET23:34 GMT7:34 4:34 PM MST6:34 PM EST7:04 PM VEN3:34 UAE (+1)6:34 PM CT-The New York Mets have placed Nieuwenhuis on the disabled list.
Analysis: The outfielder has a pinched nerve in his neck/upper back.
July 26 12:26 PM PT1:26 PM MT2:26 PM CT3:26 PM ET15:26 ET19:26 GMT3:26 12:26 PM MST2:26 PM EST2:56 PM VEN23:26 UAE2:26 PM CT-Nieuwenhuis went 4 for 4 with four RBIs in Saturday's 15-2 win over the Dodgers.
Analysis: Nieuwenhuis matched a career high with the four hits, leaving him 11 for 26 with 10 RBIs over his last nine games.
July 13 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Nieuwenhuis hit three home runs to lead the Mets to an 5-3 victory over Arizona on Sunday.
Analysis: Nieuwenhuis homered twice off Diamondbacks starter Rubby De La Rosa in the second and third innings, and once off reliever Randall Delgado in the fifth. It marked the first time any Mets player has homered three times in a home game. Nieuwenhuis is the 10th player in Mets history with a three-homer game and the first since Ike Davis accomplished the feat on July 28, 2012 at Arizona. He hadn't homered in 97 at-bats since Sept. 3.
July 12 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET19:24 GMT3:24 12:24 PM MST2:24 PM EST2:54 PM VEN23:24 UAE2:24 PM CT-Nieuwenhuis hit three homers in his first three at-bats, then struck out in the seventh inning during Sunday's game against the Arizona Diamondbacks. He opened the second inning with a homer off Rubby De La Rosa, and added a two-run shot in the third off the same pitcher. In the fifth, he led off with a homer off Randall Delgado. He led off the seventh inning and struck out against Andrew Chafin.
Analysis: Nieuwenhuis is the first Mets player to hit three homers in a home game in team history. He was called up from Triple-A Las Vegas last week.
July 6 6:18 PM PT7:18 PM MT8:18 PM CT9:18 PM ET21:18 ET1:18 GMT9:18 6:18 PM MST8:18 PM EST8:48 PM VEN5:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-The New York Mets have called up Kirk Nieuwenhuis from Triple-A Las Vegas and optioned fellow outfielder Darrell Ceciliani to their top farm club.
Analysis: Nieuwenhuis is set to start in left field Monday night against San Francisco. The fan favorite returns to the Mets after they traded him to the Los Angeles Angels for cash on May 27. In 10 games with the Angels, Nieuwenhuis batted .136 (3 for 22) with two doubles before getting designated for assignment on June 10.
June 13 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-The New York Mets have reacquired Nieuwenhuis, claiming the outfielder off waivers from the Angels less than a month after cutting the outfielder and trading him to Los Angeles. The Mets made the move Saturday before playing the Atlanta Braves.
Analysis: The 27-year-old Nieuwenhuis appeared in 27 games for the Mets, batting .079 (3 for 38), before being designated for assignment May 19. A week later he was traded to the Angels for cash. Nieuwenhuis hit .136 (3 for 22) for Los Angeles in 10 games.
June 10 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-The Angels designated Nieuwenhuis for assignment Wednesday.
Analysis: Nieuwenhuis hit .136 in 10 games with the Angels.
May 27 10:48 AM PT11:48 AM MT12:48 PM CT1:48 PM ET13:48 ET17:48 GMT1:48 10:48 AM MST12:48 PM EST1:18 PM VEN21:48 UAE12:48 PM CT-The Angels have acquired outfielder Kirk Nieuwenhuis from the New York Mets for cash considerations.
Analysis: The 27-year-old Nieuwenhuis had appeared in 27 games with six starts this season, going 3 for 38, an .079 average. A former third-round draft pick, Nieuwenhuis has played in parts of four seasons in the majors, batting .230 with 13 home runs, 31 doubles, three triples and 60 RBIs. He was designated for assignment May 19.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 NYM 91 282 40 71 12 1 7 28 25 98 4 4 .252 .315 .376
2013 NYM 47 95 10 18 3 1 3 14 12 32 2 0 .189 .278 .337
2014 NYM 61 112 16 29 14 1 3 16 16 39 4 0 .259 .346 .482
2015 NYM 45 80 13 16 6 0 3 12 6 27 2 0 .200 .273 .388
2015 LAA 10 22 4 3 2 0 0 1 2 9 0 1 .136 .208 .227
2015 Tot 55 102 17 19 8 0 3 13 8 36 2 1 .186 .259 .353
Career 254 591 83 137 37 3 16 71 61 205 12 5 .232 .306 .386


w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.