MLB Baseball

#46
Pedro Strop
ERA S K
4.63 9 25
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-1 / 220
Position: RPBorn: 6/13/1985 Birthplace: San Cristobal, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Rockies (2002)


Latest News
July 16 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Pedro Strop did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Tuesday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 15 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Pedro Strop allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 6-3 on Monday. Strop struck out two, ending the game with a 4.84 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 12 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST3:50 PM CST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Pedro Strop blew his third save, allowing three runs on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Friday. Strop did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 6 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Pedro Strop did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-3 on Saturday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Pedro Strop allowed three hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Wednesday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
June 29 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST5:15 PM CST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)6:15 PM CT-Pedro Strop allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-0 on Saturday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 27 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST3:26 PM CST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Pedro Strop did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-7 on Thursday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 27 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST10:01 PM CST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Pedro Strop did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Wednesday. Strop did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
June 23 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST3:15 PM CST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Pedro Strop recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the New York Mets 5-3 on Sunday. Strop struck out two, ending the game with a 5.17 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 18 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Pedro Strop fell to 1-3, allowing two runs on two hits in 0.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-1 on Tuesday. Strop did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.52 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
June 16 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST10:02 PM CST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Pedro Strop recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Saturday. Strop struck out two, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
June 15 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST11:20 PM CST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE12:20 AM CT-Pedro Strop walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Friday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
June 9 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Pedro Strop recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1 on Sunday. Strop did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.85 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 7 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST3:04 PM CST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Pedro Strop recorded his sixth save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-1 on Friday. Strop struck out two, ending the game with a 4.97 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 4 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Pedro Strop recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Colorado Rockies 6-3 on Tuesday. Strop did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
May 8 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Strop (left hamstring strain) will be back in the Cubs' bullpen Tuesday.
Analysis: Strop had been serving as the team's closer prior to being shelved on May 7. He's made three rehab appearances, allowing one hit over three scoreless innings.
May 6 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Pedro Strop fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on one hit and three walks without recording an out, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 6-5 on Monday. Strop did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 4 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST5:14 PM CST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Pedro Strop recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-5 on Saturday. Strop struck out two, ending the game with a 2.53 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Pedro Strop allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5 on Sunday. Strop struck out two, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Pedro Strop recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-6 on Wednesday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST2:56 PM CST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)3:56 PM CT-Pedro Strop improved to 1-1, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-1 on Sunday. Strop struck out two, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST3:48 PM CST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Pedro Strop recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-1 on Friday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Pedro Strop did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 4-0 on Tuesday. Strop did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Pedro Strop recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-0 on Thursday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Pedro Strop allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 10-0 on Monday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST9:52 PM CST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Pedro Strop did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 13-10 on Friday. Strop struck out one, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 5:01 PM PT6:01 PM MT7:01 PM CT8:01 PM ET20:01 ET0:01 GMT8:01 5:01 PM MST7:01 PM EST6:01 PM CST7:31 PM VEN4:01 UAE (+1)7:01 PM CT-Pedro Strop fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit in 0.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Texas Rangers 11-10 on Sunday. Strop did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 18.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST5:18 PM CST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Pedro Strop allowed one run on one hit in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Texas Rangers 12-4 on Thursday. Strop did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 12 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Strop (mild hamstring strain) will be ready for the season opener Thursday in Texas.
Analysis: Strop will be filling in as closer with Brandon Morrow recovering from elbow surgery. He went 6-1 with a 2.26 ERA and 13 saves in 17 chances last season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Tex 0 0 0 - 0 7 0 0 7.0 6 6 6 0 4 0 9 1.43 7.71
2010 Tex 0 0 0 - 0 15 0 0 10.2 17 12 12 2 11 0 11 2.63 10.13
2011 Tex 0 1 0 - 1 11 0 0 9.2 7 4 4 0 7 0 9 1.45 3.72
2011 Bal 2 0 0 - 1 12 0 0 12.1 8 1 1 0 3 0 12 0.89 0.73
2011 Tot 2 1 0 - 2 23 0 0 22.0 15 5 5 0 10 0 21 1.14 2.05
2012 Bal 5 2 3 - 10 70 0 0 66.1 52 18 18 2 37 2 58 1.34 2.44
2013 Bal 0 3 0 - 3 29 0 0 22.1 23 19 18 4 15 2 24 1.70 7.25
2013 ChC 2 2 1 - 1 37 0 0 35.0 22 11 11 1 11 0 42 0.94 2.83
2013 Tot 2 5 1 - 4 66 0 0 57.1 45 30 29 5 26 2 66 1.24 4.55
2014 ChC 2 4 2 - 6 65 0 0 61.0 40 19 15 2 25 3 71 1.07 2.21
2015 ChC 2 6 3 - 5 76 0 0 68.0 39 24 22 5 29 6 81 1.00 2.91
2016 ChC 2 2 0 - 4 54 0 0 47.1 27 16 15 4 15 1 60 0.89 2.85
2017 ChC 5 4 0 - 4 69 0 0 60.1 45 22 19 4 26 1 65 1.18 2.83
2018 ChC 6 1 13 - 17 60 0 0 59.2 38 15 15 4 21 3 57 0.99 2.26
2019 ChC 1 3 9 - 12 26 0 0 22.1 17 12 12 4 8 0 24 1.12 4.84
Career 27 28 31 - 64 531 0 0 482.0 341 179 168 32 212 18 523 1.15 3.14

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 ChC 55 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 ChC 69 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 ChC 60 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 532 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Bal Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.00
2015 ChC Total 0 0 0 - 0 6 0 0 5.0 2 1 1 1 1 0 6 1.59
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 1 1 1 1 0 0 4 3.38
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.1 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.00
2016 ChC Total 0 0 0 - 0 8 0 0 5.2 4 2 2 0 2 0 3 3.18
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 3.0 3 2 2 0 1 0 1 6.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.00
2017 ChC Total 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 5.1 1 1 1 0 3 0 1 1.69
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.1 1 1 1 0 1 0 1 2.70
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0.00
2018 ChC Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
Career 1 0 0 - 0 22 0 0 19.1 9 4 4 1 7 0 14 1.86


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 133 97 92 93.9 35.09
Slider 155 86 81 83.4 40.9
Split-Finger 25 90 88 89 6.6
Cut Fastball 66 91 86 88.6 17.41

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.