MLB Baseball

#15
Brian Matusz
ERA W-L K
14.00 0-0 3
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-5 / 190 NFBC ADP: 680.43
Position: SPBorn: 2/11/1987 Birthplace: Grand Junction, Colorado
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Orioles (2008)


Latest News
July 31 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Matusz was terrible in his Cubs debut Sunday, and first start since July 1, 2012, allowing three two-run homers in three innings to the Mariners.
Analysis: Though manager Joe Maddon wants to rest his rotation by possibly adding a sixth man, Matusz was designated for assignment Monday.
June 14 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-The Cubs have signed Matusz to a minor-league deal.
Analysis: Chicago hopes to revive the career of Matusz, who was the fourth overall pick in 2008 but hasn't lived up to expectations. He went 27-41 with a 4.85 ERA in 279 career appearances (68 starts) with the Orioles. Matusz, 29, was traded by Baltimore to Atlanta in late May. The Braves designated him for assignment and later released him. The Cubs plan to look at Matusz as a possible starting pitcher. He has been assigned to Triple-A Iowa.
May 23 6:17 PM PT7:17 PM MT8:17 PM CT9:17 PM ET21:17 ET1:17 GMT9:17 6:17 PM MST8:17 PM EST8:47 PM VEN5:17 UAE (+1)8:17 PM CT-The Atlanta Braves have invested deeper into their already important June draft by acquiring Matusz and the 76th pick in the draft from the Baltimore Orioles in exchange for minor league pitchers Brandon Barker and Trevor Belicek.
Analysis: The 29-year-old Matusz has a 12.00 ERA in seven relief appearances this season. He began the season on the 15-day disabled list with back discomfort and was activated on April 23. He is 27-41 with a 4.85 ERA in 289 career games, including 68 starts, in eight seasons with Baltimore. He had a 2.94 ERA in 58 games out o
Apr. 3 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Matusz was removed from the 15-day disabled list Saturday.
Analysis: The left-hander was out because of discomfort in his back.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Bal 5 2 0 - 0 8 8 0 44.2 52 24 23 6 14 0 38 1.48 4.63
2010 Bal 10 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 175.2 173 88 84 19 63 3 143 1.34 4.30
2011 Bal 1 9 0 - 0 12 12 0 49.2 81 60 59 18 24 1 38 2.11 10.69
2012 Bal 6 10 0 - 0 34 16 0 98.0 112 61 53 15 41 4 81 1.56 4.87
2013 Bal 2 1 0 - 4 65 0 0 51.0 43 21 20 3 16 2 50 1.16 3.53
2014 Bal 2 3 0 - 3 63 0 0 51.2 51 23 20 7 17 4 53 1.32 3.48
2015 Bal 1 4 0 - 2 58 0 0 49.0 38 18 16 5 20 3 56 1.18 2.94
2016 Bal 0 0 0 - 0 7 0 0 6.0 11 8 8 3 7 0 1 3.00 12.00
2016 ChC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.0 6 6 6 3 2 0 2 2.67 18.00
2016 Tot 0 0 0 - 0 8 1 0 9.0 17 14 14 6 9 0 3 2.89 14.00
Career 27 41 0 - 9 280 69 0 528.2 567 309 289 79 204 17 462 1.46 4.92

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Bal 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Bal 12 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Bal 34 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 280 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .125 .125 .125

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Bal Total 0 1 0 - 0 6 0 0 4.2 2 1 1 1 2 1 6 1.93
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 5 0 0 4.1 2 1 1 1 2 1 5 2.08
2014 Bal Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.2 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 13.50
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.2 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 13.50
Career 0 1 0 - 0 7 0 0 5.1 3 2 2 2 2 1 7 3.38


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 106 92 86 89.5 51.71
Curveball 19 80 77 78 9.27
Slider 49 87 81 84.1 23.9
Changeup 31 86 79 81.6 15.12

w10 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.