MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#49
Jonathon Niese
ERA W-L K
3.40 9-11 138
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215 NFBC ADP: 319.57
Position: SPBorn: 10/27/1986 Birthplace: Lima, Ohio
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 7th Round by Mets (2005)


Latest News
Sep. 27 9:38 PM PT10:38 PM MT11:38 PM CT12:38 AM ET0:38 ET4:38 GMT12:38 9:38 PM MST11:38 PM EST12:08 AM VEN8:38 UAE11:38 PM CT-Niese has left his final start of the season with an elevated heart rate, a condition the New York Mets pitcher has dealt with before.
Analysis: Niese was working on a three-hit shutout Friday night against Houston when he ducked under a throw to second base by Mets catcher Anthony Recker in the sixth inning. The left-hander bent over to stretch his arms and back after the play, bringing trainer Ray Ramirez and manager Terry Collins out of the dugout.
Sep. 21 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Niese allowed two runs over 7 1-3 innings to win 4-2 at Atlanta on Saturday.
Analysis: Niese improved to 1-1 with a 2.14 ERA over his last three starts.
Aug. 12 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Niese snapped his four-game losing streak Monday, allowing two runs and five hits over seven innings in a 5-3 win at Philadelphia.
Analysis: The left-hander had been 0-4 with a 5.76 ERA over his prior four outings.
Aug. 2 4:59 PM PT5:59 PM MT6:59 PM CT7:59 PM ET19:59 ET23:59 GMT7:59 4:59 PM MST6:59 PM EST7:29 PM VEN3:59 UAE (+1)6:59 PM CT-Niese lost for a third straight start Friday, allowing five runs - three earned - and nine hits over eight innings in a 5-1 defeat against San Francisco.
Analysis: Niese is really struggling lately, going 2-4 with a 4.82 ERA over his last seven starts.
July 27 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Niese lost his second straight start Saturday, surrendering three runs and five hits over five innings in a 5-2 defeat at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Niese hasn't been very good lately, going 2-3 over his last six outings with a 5.22 ERA. If you're still hanging on to him it might be wise to let go considering his low strikeout rate as well (6.61/nine innings pitched).
July 6 10:15 AM PT11:15 AM MT12:15 PM CT1:15 PM ET13:15 ET17:15 GMT1:15 10:15 AM MST12:15 PM EST12:45 PM VEN21:15 UAE12:15 PM CT-Right-hander Buddy Carlyle has been designated for assignment by the New York Mets, who plan to activate Niese from the 15-day disabled list to start Monday night in Seattle against the Mariners.
Analysis: Niese was put on the 15-day disabled list on July 6, a move retroactive to a day earlier, after the Mets detected a drop-off in the crispness of some of his pitches.
July 4 5:16 PM PT6:16 PM MT7:16 PM CT8:16 PM ET20:16 ET0:16 GMT8:16 5:16 PM MST7:16 PM EST7:46 PM VEN4:16 UAE (+1)7:16 PM CT-Niese has left his start against Texas in the first inning after getting hit near his hip by a line drive.
Analysis: Alex Rios' liner appeared to hit Niese on the left side of his lower back Friday night. He recovered to throw out Rios at first base before manager Terry Collins, pitching coach Dan Warthen and trainer Ray Ramirez came out to check on Niese.
June 29 9:56 AM PT10:56 AM MT11:56 AM CT12:56 PM ET12:56 ET16:56 GMT0:56 9:56 AM MST11:56 AM EST12:26 PM VEN20:56 UAE11:56 AM CT-Niese extended his streak of solid starts with six gritty innings, and the New York Mets spoiled Gerrit Cole's return from the disabled list Saturday with a 5-3 win over the Pittsburgh Pirates.
Analysis: Niese (5-4, 2.88 ERA) gave up three runs and scattered seven hits. It was his 20th straight outing without allowing more than three runs, dating to last season.
June 23 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Niese was outstanding in Miami on Sunday against the Marlins.
Analysis: Niese won for the first time since May 22 by allowing three runs in six innings and he added an RBI bunt single.
May 6 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Niese was on fire in Miami on Monday against the Marlins.
Analysis: The red-hot Niese pitched seven shutout innings and allowed five hits, struck out six and walked one but was replaced after throwing 108 pitches. Niese has permitted one run or less in his last four starts.
Apr. 30 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Niese improved to 2-2 on Tuesday with his second straight victory after locking down the Phillies.
Analysis: Niese limited Philadelphia to a run and four hits over seven innings. He owns a 2.20 ERA and has thrown at least six innings in four straight starts.
Apr. 24 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Niese allowed one run and six hits in 6 2-3 innings to beat St. Louis 3-2 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Niese improved to 1-2 despite a solid 2.45 ERA. He'll try to make it two in a row against the Phillies next week.
Mar. 30 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Niese was sharp into the sixth inning of his injury delayed first start of the season Sunday, when the New York Mets lost 2-1 to the Cincinnati Reds, missing an opportunity to finish off a three-game sweep.the season on the disabled list, retroactive to March 21.
Analysis: Niese (0-1), who was slowed by shoulder weakness and elbow inflammation this spring, held Cincinnati to two hits through five innings but gave up three straight singles to open the sixth, beginning with Reds fill-in starter Alfredo Simon (1-0).
Mar. 16 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Niese was relieved to be back at spring training with the New York Mets camp after receiving a relatively good medical report.
Analysis: The left-hander had a MRI of his pitching elbow in New York on Monday, and the scan revealed he had some inflammation but no damage to his ulnar collateral ligament. Niese has a 13.50 ERA in two spring training appearances.
Feb. 26 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)2:47 PM CT-Niese says the discomfort he feels in his throwing shoulder probably stems from focusing too much on strengthening his rotator cuff.
Analysis: He was on the disabled list from June 21 to Aug. 11 last season with a partial tear in his rotator cuff. Niese said Friday that "this offseason that's pretty much all I was working on. I neglected the other things. So everything was at an imbalance." He complained of a dead arm after throwing live batting practice early this week and was sent to New York for an MRI. The test Thursday revealed some muscle weakness but no structural issues.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 NYM 1 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 14.0 20 11 11 2 8 0 11 2.00 7.07
2009 NYM 1 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 25.2 27 12 12 1 9 0 18 1.40 4.21
2010 NYM 9 10 0 - 0 30 30 2 173.2 192 97 81 20 62 3 148 1.46 4.20
2011 NYM 11 11 0 - 0 27 26 0 157.1 178 88 77 14 44 4 138 1.41 4.40
2012 NYM 13 9 0 - 0 30 30 0 190.1 174 77 72 22 49 2 155 1.17 3.40
2013 NYM 8 8 0 - 0 24 24 1 143.0 158 68 59 10 48 1 105 1.44 3.71
2014 NYM 9 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 187.2 193 80 71 17 45 0 138 1.27 3.40
Career 52 51 0 - 0 149 148 3 891.2 942 433 383 86 265 10 713 1.35 3.87

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 NYM 3 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2009 NYM 5 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2010 NYM 31 53 3 10 2 0 0 4 8 27 0 0 .189 .295 .226
2011 NYM 29 49 1 3 0 1 0 0 4 33 0 0 .061 .132 .102
2012 NYM 30 55 8 12 0 0 0 2 6 19 0 0 .218 .295 .218
2013 NYM 24 39 6 8 2 0 0 4 4 17 0 0 .205 .279 .256
2014 NYM 31 55 3 5 1 0 0 4 6 29 0 0 .091 .180 .109
Career 153 265 21 40 5 1 0 14 28 132 0 0 .151 .232 .177

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1399 92 83 88.5 50.11
Curveball 473 78 68 73.7 16.94
Changeup 258 85 77 81.8 9.24
Cut Fastball 662 92 82 87.4 23.71

127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.