MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Joey Votto
AVG HR RBI
.309 19 51
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 221 NFBC ADP: 75.88
Position: 1BBorn: 9/10/1983 Birthplace: Toronto, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 2nd Round by Reds (2002)


Latest News
July 26 12:40 PM PT1:40 PM MT2:40 PM CT3:40 PM ET15:40 ET19:40 GMT3:40 12:40 PM MST2:40 PM EST3:10 PM VEN23:40 UAE2:40 PM CT-Votto continued his hot streak Saturday, going 2 for 4 with two RBIs in a 5-2 win at Colorado.
Analysis: Votto is 18 for 31 (.581) over his last eight games.
July 25 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-Votto went 3 for 5 with his 18th home run in Friday's 6-5 loss at Colorado.
Analysis: Votto has gone 16 for 27 with two home runs over his last seven games.
July 23 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Votto has come out of the second half on a tear. He went 5 for 6 with a home run in Wednesday's doubleheader against the Cubs.
Analysis: Votto is 14 for 26 since the break, but he's 5 for 45 (.111) in his last 12 against the Rockies.
July 20 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Votto has gotten hot with three more hits in Sunday's 5-3, 11-inning loss to Cleveland.
Analysis: Votto has gone 6 for 8 with two doubles over his last two games.
July 8 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Votto has ended his slump. He went 3 for 5 with a home run and a double in Tuesday's 5-0 win at Washington.
Analysis: He's 5 for 10 in his last two games after going 3 for 32 over his previous nine.
June 15 12:08 PM PT1:08 PM MT2:08 PM CT3:08 PM ET15:08 ET19:08 GMT3:08 12:08 PM MST2:08 PM EST2:38 PM VEN23:08 UAE2:08 PM CT-Votto was 2 for 5 with his 13th double Sunday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Votto is 21 for 57 (.368) with 14 runs scored over his last 15, though he didn't cross home plate Sunday.
June 9 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Votto homered three times against the Philadelphia Phillies, matching Johnny Bench as the only Cincinnati Reds players to hit that many in a game three times.
Analysis: Votto had solo shots off Aaron Harang - who gave up four homers in all - and added a two-run blast in the seventh inning off Dustin McGowan. Votto has 13 homers totall this season.
June 8 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Voto was 2 for 4 and scored his 28th run Sunday against San Diego.
Analysis: Votto owns a .524 on-base percentage with nine runs scored in his last nine games.
June 4 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Votto was 3 for 6 with two doubles and a home run at Philadelphia on Wednesday.
Analysis: Votto is 9 for 21 with three home runs and seven RBIs in his last five games.
June 3 9:03 AM PT10:03 AM MT11:03 AM CT12:03 PM ET12:03 ET16:03 GMT0:03 9:03 AM MST11:03 AM EST11:33 AM VEN20:03 UAE11:03 AM CT-Votto was 2 for 5 with his ninth double against the Phillies on Tuesday.
Analysis: Votto is hitting .286 and has drawn 28 walks to bolster a .384 on-base percentage.
May 10 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Votto had three hits in his return from suspension on Saturday.
Analysis: Votto, hitting .315 on the season, had been 0 for 6 in his previous two games before getting sat down for bumping an ump.
May 8 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Votto has been suspended for one game and fined by Major League Baseball for making contact with an umpire during Wednesday night's 3-0 victory at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The slugger will serve his suspension Friday night against the Chicago White Sox, if the teams play. Rain was forecast.
May 6 5:24 PM PT6:24 PM MT7:24 PM CT8:24 PM ET20:24 ET0:24 GMT8:24 5:24 PM MST7:24 PM EST7:54 PM VEN4:24 UAE (+1)7:24 PM CT-Votto was ejected and then made contact with home plate umpire Chris Conroy during the third inning of Wednesday night's game against the Pittsburgh Pirates. After Votto struck out swinging against Gerrit Cole to end the inning, he flung his bat and helmet to the ground. Votto then said something to Conroy as he walked to his position and was ejected. Votto charged toward Conroy and the two bumped chests before Reds manager Bryan Price could intervene.
Analysis: Making contact with an umpire often results in discipline from Major League Baseball such as a suspension and fine. Votto was replaced at first base by backup catcher Brayan Pena.
May 2 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Votto is having a big series against the Atlanta Braves, going 4 for 8 with two doubles in the first two games.
Analysis: Votto is 6 for 13 with a homer and two doubles in his last four games after going hitless in 15 at-bats over his previous four.
Apr. 21 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Votto went 2 for 4 with a two-run home run in Monday's 6-1 win at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Votto has gotten off to a strong start, batting .375 with five homers and 12 RBIs through 13 games.
Apr. 11 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Votto continued his hot start Friday by going deep twice against St. Louis.
Analysis: Votto is hitting .412 through his first four games with eight RBIs.
Apr. 10 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Votto hit his first home run of the season Thursday versus Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Votto is off to a good start through three games, going 5 for 14 after batting a career-worst .255 in 62 games in 2014.
Apr. 9 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Votto added to his resurgent series with his first homer since May 10 and sent the Cincinnati Reds to a 3-2 victory Thursday, completing a season-opening sweep of the Pittsburgh Pirates.
Analysis: Votto hit a tying two-run homer in the sixth inning. The NL's Most Valuable Player of 2010 didn't play after July 5 last season because of strained muscles above his left knee. He was 5 for 14 with four RBIs in the series.
Feb. 22 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Votto is one of the Reds' main concerns heading into the first full-squad workout Tuesday. The first baseman played in only 62 games last season - none after July 5 - because of strained muscles above his left knee.
Analysis: The first baseman had hoped to return before the end of the season, but the injury was slow to heal.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Cin 24 84 11 27 7 0 4 17 5 15 1 0 .321 .360 .548
2008 Cin 151 526 69 156 32 3 24 84 59 102 7 5 .297 .368 .506
2009 Cin 131 469 82 151 38 1 25 84 70 106 4 1 .322 .414 .567
2010 Cin 150 547 106 177 36 2 37 113 91 125 16 5 .324 .424 .600
2011 Cin 161 599 101 185 40 3 29 103 110 129 8 6 .309 .416 .531
2012 Cin 111 374 59 126 44 0 14 56 94 85 5 3 .337 .474 .567
2013 Cin 162 581 101 177 30 3 24 73 135 138 6 3 .305 .435 .491
2014 Cin 62 220 32 56 16 0 6 23 47 49 1 1 .255 .390 .409
2015 Cin 101 363 58 112 20 2 19 51 77 79 6 2 .309 .432 .532
Career 1053 3763 619 1167 263 14 182 604 688 828 54 26 .310 .419 .533

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Cin Total 3 10 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .100 .091 .100
    LDS 3 10 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .100 .091 .100
2012 Cin Total 5 18 3 7 0 0 0 0 4 5 0 0 .389 .500 .389
    LDS 5 18 3 7 0 0 0 0 4 5 0 0 .389 .500 .389
2013 Cin Total 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 9 32 3 8 0 0 0 1 4 9 0 0 .250 .324 .250


w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.