MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#
Edinson Volquez
AVG HR RBI
.038 0 2
Team: Ht / Wt: / NFBC ADP: 380.40
Position: PBorn: // Birthplace: ,
Bats/Throws: -/- Draft: -


Latest News
Sep. 26 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Volquez threw seven scoreless innings, and the Pittsburgh Pirates moved within one game of the NL Central lead with a 10-1 win over the Atlanta Braves on Thursday night.
Analysis: Volquez (13-7, 3.04 ERA) set a season high with 10 strikeouts and gave up only four hits. He closed his regular season with 18 consecutive scoreless innings and string of five consecutive victories.
Sep. 16 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE12:34 AM CT-Volquez improved to 12-7 Sunday, limiting the Cubs to one earned run over seven innings in a 7-3 victory.
Analysis: Volquez is ending the season on a strong note, going 4-0 with a 2.18 ERA over his last 10 starts.
Aug. 8 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Volquez pitched a gem Thursday, allowing one hit over seven shutout innings in a 7-2 win over visiting Miami.
Analysis: Volquez had been struggling with a 5.74 ERA over his previous three outings.
July 28 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Volquez gave up four runs - though just two were earned - and six hits over 4 1-3 innings in a 7-5 win at Colorado on Sunday.
Analysis: Volquez has thrown just 10 innings over his last two starts after totaling 30 in his previous four outings.
July 22 12:04 PM PT1:04 PM MT2:04 PM CT3:04 PM ET15:04 ET19:04 GMT3:04 12:04 PM MST2:04 PM EST2:34 PM VEN23:04 UAE2:04 PM CT-Volquez was hit hard in Monday's 5-2 defeat to the Dodgers.
Analysis: Volquez allowed all five runs and 10 hits in 5 2-3 innings. He had won his previous four starts behind a 0.90 ERA.
July 11 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Volquez tossed a complete game six-hitter to win his fourth straight start in a 9-1 victory at St. Louis on Thursday.
Analysis: Volquez (8-6) has a 0.90 ERA in winning four consecutive starts for the first time in his career. He struck out five and walked two in recording the second complete-game win of his career. He allowed just one hit as a member of the San Diego Padres in beating Houston 1-0 on July 19, 2012.
July 6 10:59 AM PT11:59 AM MT12:59 PM CT1:59 PM ET13:59 ET17:59 GMT1:59 10:59 AM MST12:59 PM EST1:29 PM VEN21:59 UAE12:59 PM CT-Volquez allowed a run over seven innings Saturday.
Analysis: Volquez has been dominant in winning three straight outings and faces the Cards next.
June 30 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Volquez was effective Sunday.
Analysis: Volquez worked in and out of trouble, giving up eight hits and a walk in six shutout innings. He struck out a season-high seven. He faces the lowly Phils next.
June 24 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Volquez picked up his fifth win in Monday's 8-1 victory at Tampa Bay, yielding just one run over a season-best eight innings with eight strikeouts, which are also his most in 2014.
Analysis: Though he was strong Monday, he's been fairly inconsistent, going 3-2 with a 4.45 ERA over his last five starts.
Apr. 28 11:56 AM PT12:56 PM MT1:56 PM CT2:56 PM ET14:56 ET18:56 GMT2:56 11:56 AM MST1:56 PM EST2:26 PM VEN22:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Volquez endured his roughest outing of the season in a 7-0 loss to St. Louis on Sunday.
Analysis: Volquez (1-2, 3.21 ERA) gave up six runs in 5 2-3 innings for Pittsburgh, which has dropped five of six. His day unraveled after the Pirates' appeal of a potential double-play ball was denied and first baseman Ike Davis' foot was ruled off the bag in the sixth inning. Volquez had a 1.93 ERA in his five games (four starts) for Pittsburgh.
Apr. 23 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Volquez suffered his first loss Tuesday against Cincinnati.
Analysis: Volquez was solid in the loss, yielding two runs and five hits over seven innings, but he didn't receive a single run of support. He owns a 1.93 ERA.
Apr. 18 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Volquez earned his first win with the Pirates on Thursday night after an 11-2 rout of Milwaukee.
Analysis: Volquez (1-0, 1.71 ERA) gave up two runs in seven innings, scattering eight hits. He's allowed two runs or fewer in each of his three starts this season.
Apr. 13 5:25 PM PT6:25 PM MT7:25 PM CT8:25 PM ET20:25 ET0:25 GMT8:25 5:25 PM MST7:25 PM EST7:55 PM VEN4:25 UAE (+1)7:25 PM CT-Volquez went without a decision again in his second start for the Pirates, surrendering two runs - one earned - and four hits over 6 1-3 innings Saturday against Milwaukee.
Analysis: Volquez owns a 1.50 ERA through his first two starts for Pittsburgh.
Apr. 7 3:10 PM PT4:10 PM MT5:10 PM CT6:10 PM ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 PM MST5:10 PM EST5:40 PM VEN2:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-For his first start with the Pirates, Edinson Volquez beat Adam Wainwright. That'll do nicely as an early return on that offseason contract he signed with Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Singed to a one-year, $5 million contract as a free agent in December, Volquez was sharp in his first start for the Pirates as he gave up one run and three hits in 5 2-3 innings with one walk and four strikeouts. That came after Volquez pitched two scoreless innings of relief Thursday against the Chicago Cubs.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 Tex 0 4 0 - 0 6 3 0 12.2 25 22 20 3 10 0 11 2.76 14.21
2006 Tex 1 6 0 - 0 8 8 0 33.1 52 28 27 7 17 0 15 2.07 7.29
2007 Tex 2 1 0 - 0 6 6 0 34.0 34 18 17 4 15 0 29 1.44 4.50
2008 Cin 17 6 0 - 0 33 32 0 196.0 167 82 70 14 93 5 206 1.33 3.21
2009 Cin 4 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 49.2 34 25 24 6 32 0 47 1.33 4.35
2010 Cin 4 3 0 - 0 12 12 0 62.2 59 30 30 6 35 0 67 1.50 4.31
2011 Cin 5 7 0 - 0 20 20 0 108.2 106 72 69 19 65 3 104 1.57 5.71
2012 SD 11 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 182.2 160 88 84 14 105 6 174 1.45 4.14
2013 SD 9 10 0 - 0 27 27 0 142.1 168 100 95 14 69 2 116 1.67 6.01
2013 LAD 0 2 0 - 0 6 5 0 28.0 25 14 13 5 8 0 26 1.18 4.18
2013 Tot 9 12 0 - 0 33 32 0 170.1 193 114 108 19 77 2 142 1.59 5.71
2014 Pit 13 7 0 - 0 32 31 1 192.2 166 75 65 17 71 6 140 1.23 3.04
Career 66 59 0 - 0 191 185 2 1042.2 996 554 514 109 520 22 935 1.45 4.44

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Cin 33 61 3 6 0 0 0 1 0 31 0 0 .098 .098 .098
2009 Cin 9 16 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .063 .063 .063
2010 Cin 12 17 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 7 0 0 .118 .167 .118
2011 Cin 20 26 2 3 0 0 0 0 1 13 0 0 .115 .148 .115
2012 SD 32 56 2 4 1 0 0 1 1 29 0 0 .071 .088 .089
2013 SD 27 34 3 4 1 0 1 4 1 20 0 0 .118 .143 .235
2013 LAD 6 8 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2013 Tot 33 42 4 5 1 0 1 4 1 23 0 0 .119 .140 .214
2014 Pit 32 53 3 2 0 0 0 2 3 27 0 0 .038 .089 .038
Career 191 271 15 23 2 0 1 8 7 138 0 0 .085 .108 .103

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 Cin Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.2 4 4 4 0 2 0 0 21.60
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.2 4 4 4 0 2 0 0 21.60
2014 Pit Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 1 3 0 3 9.00
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 1 3 0 3 9.00
Career 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.2 9 9 9 1 5 0 3 12.15

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Pit Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1637 98 89 93 55.42
Curveball 766 85 75 79.8 25.93
Changeup 551 89 80 84.6 18.65

w10 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.