MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#40
Bartolo Colon
ERA W-L K
3.88 10-8 106
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 5-11 / 283 NFBC ADP: 295.52
Position: SPBorn: 5/24/1973 Birthplace: Altamira, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Indians (1993)


Latest News
July 24 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Colon came within seven outs of a perfect game Wednesday, instead getting the win in a 3-2 victory versus Seattle as he limited the Mariners to two runs and three hits over 7 1-3 innings.
Analysis: No one likely saw the gem coming, given that he had posted a 5.88 ERA over his previous four starts.
July 19 10:42 AM PT11:42 AM MT12:42 PM CT1:42 PM ET13:42 ET17:42 GMT1:42 10:42 AM MST12:42 PM EST1:12 PM VEN21:42 UAE12:42 PM CT-Colon did not get a decision Friday.
Analysis: Colon was derailed by a sour stomach and a headache. He allowed four runs and struck out six in five innings.
June 30 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Colon's win streak ended Sunday.
Analysis: Colon was finished after six innings, and he yielded five runs on seven hits and a walk. "I just think that because I've already gone against them once they probably prepared so they knew what I was coming with," Colon said.
June 25 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Colon extended his win streak to six with a 10-1 rout of his former team, Oakland, on Tuesday.
Analysis: Colon (8-5, 3.67 ERA) gave up one run and four hits over eight innings for the second straight start. He has a 1.58 ERA during his win streak, which has spanned seven outings.
May 18 12:34 PM PT1:34 PM MT2:34 PM CT3:34 PM ET15:34 ET19:34 GMT3:34 12:34 PM MST2:34 PM EST3:04 PM VEN23:34 UAE2:34 PM CT-Colon has allowed two runs and five hits over eight innings in a 5-2 win at Washington on Saturday.
Analysis: Colon has been 0-2 with an 8.31 ERA in his previous three May starts.
May 7 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Colon took his fifth loss of the season Tuesday at Miami despite a decent showing.
Analysis: Colon gave up three runs and seven hits over seven innings. Though he's 2-5 with a 5.36 ERA, he's thrown at least seven innings in four of his seven starts.
May 2 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Colon was rocked on Thursday.
Analysis: Colon allowed seven runs on 10 hits in 4 2-3 innings, his shortest outing of the season. He walked one and struck out three. His next start is against Miami.
Apr. 25 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Colon improved to 2-3 on Thursday with a stellar showing against St. Louis.
Analysis: Colon struck out a season-high eight in seven innings while limiting the Cardinals to a run and four hits. He also didn't issue a single walk for the third time in five starts this season.
Apr. 14 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Mike Trout, Albert Pujols and Raul Ibanez hit consecutive home runs off Bartolo Colon in the first inning, setting the tone for the Los Angeles Angels' 14-2 rout of the New York Mets on Sunday in the decisive game of their interleague series.
Analysis: Colon (1-2, 6.00 ERA) gave up nine runs and 11 hits in five innings, allowing at least one hit to every batter in the Angels' starting lineup after pitching seven innings of six-hit ball last Tuesday during a 4-0 victory in Atlanta. The 40-year-old right-hander signed a two-year, $20 million contract with the Mets in December as a free agent after going 18-6 with a career-best 2.65 ERA in 30 starts for Oakland.
Apr. 9 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Colon improved to 1-1 Tuesday, throwing seven shutout innings while surrendering six hits in a win at Atlanta.
Analysis: Somehow the ageless Colon may again prove to be an asset in fantasy circles.
Mar. 15 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Colon, who signed a two-year, $20 million deal in the offseason, started strong then struggled. He gave up seven hits, four runs (all earned), had one walk and no strikeouts in four-plus innings. Anthony Rizzo hit two solo homers off Colon.
Analysis: Colon, 40, is in his first year with the Mets after a stellar 18-win season with the Oakland A's last year. Earlier this spring, the hard-throwing right-hander was sidelined by a minor calf injury so beware.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
1997 Cle 4 7 0 - 0 19 17 1 94.0 107 66 59 12 45 1 66 1.62 5.65
1998 Cle 14 9 0 - 0 31 31 6 204.0 205 91 84 15 79 5 158 1.39 3.71
1999 Cle 18 5 0 - 0 32 32 1 205.0 185 97 90 24 76 5 161 1.27 3.95
2000 Cle 15 8 0 - 0 30 30 2 188.0 163 86 81 21 98 4 212 1.39 3.88
2001 Cle 14 12 0 - 0 34 34 1 222.1 220 106 101 26 90 2 201 1.39 4.09
2002 Cle 10 4 0 - 0 16 16 4 116.1 104 37 33 11 31 1 75 1.16 2.55
2002 Mon 10 4 0 - 0 17 17 4 117.0 115 48 43 9 39 4 74 1.32 3.31
2002 Tot 20 8 0 - 0 33 33 8 233.1 219 85 76 20 70 5 149 1.24 2.93
2003 CWS 15 13 0 - 0 34 34 9 242.0 223 107 104 30 67 3 173 1.20 3.87
2004 Ana 18 12 0 - 0 34 34 0 208.1 215 122 116 38 71 1 158 1.37 5.01
2005 LAA 21 8 0 - 0 33 33 2 222.2 215 93 86 26 43 0 157 1.16 3.48
2006 LAA 1 5 0 - 0 10 10 1 56.1 71 39 32 11 11 0 31 1.46 5.11
2007 LAA 6 8 0 - 0 19 18 0 99.1 132 74 70 15 29 1 76 1.62 6.34
2008 Bos 4 2 0 - 0 7 7 0 39.0 44 23 17 5 10 0 27 1.38 3.92
2009 CWS 3 6 0 - 0 12 12 0 62.1 69 42 29 13 21 3 38 1.44 4.19
2011 NYY 8 10 0 - 0 29 26 1 164.1 172 85 73 21 40 3 135 1.29 4.00
2012 Oak 10 9 0 - 0 24 24 0 152.1 161 62 58 17 23 3 91 1.21 3.43
2013 Oak 18 6 0 - 0 30 30 3 190.1 193 60 56 14 29 0 117 1.17 2.65
2014 NYM 10 8 0 - 0 21 21 0 141.2 145 64 61 14 20 1 106 1.16 3.88
Career 199 136 0 - 0 432 426 35 2725.1 2739 1302 1193 322 822 37 2056 1.31 3.94

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
1997 Cle 19 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
1998 Cle 31 2 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
1999 Cle 32 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2000 Cle 30 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2001 Cle 34 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2002 Cle 16 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2002 Mon 17 39 1 5 0 0 0 3 0 20 0 0 .128 .146 .128
2002 Tot 33 45 1 6 0 0 0 3 0 23 0 0 .133 .149 .133
2003 CWS 34 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2004 Ana 34 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2005 LAA 33 3 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2006 LAA 10 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2007 LAA 19 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 Bos 7 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 NYY 29 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Oak 24 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Oak 30 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 NYM 21 41 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 23 0 0 .049 .049 .073
Career 432 137 3 12 1 0 0 5 0 79 0 0 .088 .094 .095

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
1998 Cle Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 1 14.2 9 2 2 1 7 1 6 1.23
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 5 1 1 1 3 1 3 1.59
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 1 9.0 4 1 1 0 4 0 3 1.00
1999 Cle Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 11 9 9 3 4 0 12 9.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 11 9 9 3 4 0 12 9.00
2001 Cle Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.2 12 3 3 0 6 0 13 1.84
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.2 12 3 3 0 6 0 13 1.84
2004 Ana Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 3 0 3 4.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 3 0 3 4.50
2005 LAA Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.0 10 4 4 0 2 0 7 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.0 10 4 4 0 2 0 7 4.50
2013 Oak Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 10 3 3 0 0 0 4 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 10 3 3 0 0 0 4 4.50
Career 2 4 0 - 0 10 10 1 58.1 59 24 24 5 22 1 45 3.70


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1723 94 84 88.9 81.97
Slider 247 87 78 82.3 11.75
Changeup 132 84 79 81.5 6.28

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.