MLB Baseball

#33
Daniel Mengden
ERA W-L K
4.06 7-6 64
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-1 / 231
Position: SPBorn: 2/19/1993 Birthplace: Houston, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Astros (2014)


Latest News
Sep. 19 10:51 PM PT11:51 PM MT12:51 AM CT1:51 AM ET1:51 ET5:51 GMT13:51 10:51 PM MST12:51 AM EST11:51 PM CST1:21 AM VEN9:51 UAE12:51 AM CT-Daniel Mengden allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Los Angeles Angels 9-7 on Tuesday. Mengden struck out three, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Daniel Mengden improved to 7-6, allowing no hits and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-0 on Wednesday. Mengden struck out three, ending the game with a 4.06 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST11:21 PM CST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Daniel Mengden allowed one hit without giving up a run in 4.2 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the New York Yankees 5-1 on Tuesday. Mengden struck out three, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST10:43 PM CST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-Daniel Mengden allowed four runs - three earned - on five hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Seattle Mariners 8-7 on Saturday. Mengden struck out one, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Daniel Mengden allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 11-4 on Monday. Mengden struck out two, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 24 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST3:21 PM CST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Mengden (sprained right foot) came off the DL on Saturday and was optioned to the minors.
Analysis: Mengden has had issues with the same foot in the past. The 25-year-old pitched very well over the season's first two months but really struggled in June, going 0-2 with an 11.57 ERA in four starts.
June 23 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST3:44 PM CST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Daniel Mengden allowed five runs on four hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-6 on Saturday. Mengden struck out one, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Mengden was roughed up for the fourth straight outing before a sprained right foot forced him to leave after two innings. The right-hander is 0-2 with an 11.57 ERA over 16 1/3 innings in June. His status is uncertain.
June 17 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST5:48 PM CST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Daniel Mengden allowed four runs on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Los Angeles Angels 6-5 on Sunday. Mengden struck out two, ending the game with a 4.06 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
June 13 10:07 PM PT11:07 PM MT12:07 AM CT1:07 AM ET1:07 ET5:07 GMT13:07 10:07 PM MST12:07 AM EST11:07 PM CST12:37 AM VEN9:07 UAE12:07 AM CT-Daniel Mengden fell to 6-6, allowing six runs on eight hits and four walks in 4.2 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 6-3 on Tuesday. Mengden struck out one, ending the game with a 3.90 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 6 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Daniel Mengden fell to 6-5, allowing six runs on five hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Texas Rangers 8-2 on Wednesday. Mengden struck out three, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 31 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST4:17 PM CST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Daniel Mengden improved to 6-4, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 8.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-3 on Thursday. Mengden struck out five, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He extended his scoreless streak to a career-high 25 innings before giving up three straight hits, including a two-run double by Wilson Ramos in the ninth. It's the longest scoreless streak by any A's pitcher since former closer Sean Doolittle went 26 1/3 innings in 2014. Mengden's run is also the best by an Oakland starting pitcher since Cory Lidle's 32-inning streak in 2002.
May 26 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST4:25 PM CST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Daniel Mengden improved to 5-4, allowing two hits in a complete-game shutout, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-0 on Saturday. Mengden struck out five, ending the game with a 2.85 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
May 20 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Daniel Mengden improved to 4-4, allowing two hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 9-2 on Sunday. Mengden struck out two, ending the game with a 3.30 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 16 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Daniel Mengden improved to 3-4, allowing two runs - one earned - on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-3 on Tuesday. Mengden struck out three, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 9 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST4:22 PM CST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Daniel Mengden fell to 2-4, allowing two runs on six hits in 6.2 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 4-1 on Wednesday. Mengden struck out four, ending the game with a 4.06 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 5 10:31 PM PT11:31 PM MT12:31 AM CT1:31 AM ET1:31 ET5:31 GMT13:31 10:31 PM MST12:31 AM EST11:31 PM CST1:01 AM VEN9:31 UAE12:31 AM CT-Daniel Mengden allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Friday. Mengden struck out five, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Daniel Mengden fell to 2-3, allowing five runs - four earned - on six hits and one walk in 2.1 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 11-0 on Saturday. Mengden struck out one, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST4:55 PM CST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Daniel Mengden allowed one run on six hits in 6.1 innings as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Sunday. Mengden struck out five, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE12:05 AM CT-Daniel Mengden improved to 2-2, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Chicago White Sox 8-1 on Monday. Mengden struck out six, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 11:06 PM PT12:06 AM MT1:06 AM CT2:06 AM ET2:06 ET6:06 GMT14:06 11:06 PM MST1:06 AM EST12:06 AM CST1:36 AM VEN10:06 UAE1:06 AM CT-Daniel Mengden improved to 1-2, allowing four runs - three earned - on seven hits in 5.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 16-6 on Wednesday. Mengden struck out five, ending the game with a 6.19 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST4:50 PM CST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Daniel Mengden fell to 0-2, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Texas Rangers 6-3 on Thursday. Mengden struck out two, ending the game with a 6.55 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST5:33 PM CST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)6:33 PM CT-Daniel Mengden fell to 0-1, allowing six runs - five earned - on seven hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Los Angeles Angels 8-3 on Saturday. Mengden struck out five, ending the game with a 7.94 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Oak 2 9 0 - 0 14 14 0 72.0 83 54 52 9 33 0 71 1.61 6.50
2017 Oak 3 2 0 - 0 7 7 1 43.0 36 16 15 6 9 0 29 1.05 3.14
2018 Oak 7 6 0 - 0 21 16 1 110.1 99 55 49 16 25 0 67 1.12 4.00
Career 12 17 0 - 0 42 37 2 225.1 218 125 116 31 67 0 167 1.26 4.63

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Oak 14 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Oak 7 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .500 .667 .500
2018 Oak 21 3 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
Career 42 11 2 2 0 0 0 1 1 4 0 0 .182 .250 .182


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 902 95 86 92.2 53.31
Curveball 180 75 68 72.3 10.64
Slider 312 87 77 83.2 18.44
Changeup 223 86 77 82 13.18
Cut Fastball 75 90 85 87.2 4.43

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.